Beth Krippel's blog

FOAL Annual Meeting: May 1 at 7:00 PM

The Friends of the Atascocita Library Annual Meeting will be held Tuesday, May1, at 7:00PM at the Atascocita Library.There will be a short business meeting, which will include election of officers and presentation of the budget for 2012 – 2013. Harris County Precinct 4 Commissioner R. Jack Cagle will be the guest speaker. He has spent more than 20 years working with and serving the citizens of Harris County Precinct 4 as an attorney, as an elected judge and now serving as county commissioner.

Embrace a more magical New Orleans

New Orleans is known for its mystical ways.  Several authors have made it the stomping grounds for their novels.  A new writer has established her urban fantasy in The Crescent City with the first novel in a planned series taking place just as hurricane Katrina hits.  Suzanne Johnson's Royal Street introduces us to a Green Congress mage who goes by DJ.  When the hurricane hits, more than physical structures are broken down -- things are getting loose in the magical world, too.  With her mentor missing, DJ is faced with a new partner and keeping baddies from getting past the barrie

Memory of Light publication date announced

Tor has announced the release date for the final novel in Robert Jordan's Wheel of Time series.  A Memory of Light will release on January 8, 2013.   The series has been completed by acclaimed writer Brandon Sanderson.  Read more at the Tor.com website.

Atascocita Lunch 'n' Lit

February 9, 2012 at 1:00 PM, join the Atascocita book  club, Lunch 'n' Lit, to discuss Bill Bryson's At Home: a short history of private life.  Bring your lunch and enjoy lunching with literature!

Anne McCaffrey: 1926-2011

 Anne McCaffrey passed away at the age of 85 on November 21, 2011.  Read her biography here.  I had the honor of meeting her briefly several years ago.  She was a grand dame of Science Fiction and a gutsy lady.  Many of her books are carried by HCPL for any who would like to visit (or revisit) PERN or many of her other wonderful stories. 

Brandon Sanderson in Houston!

Fans of The Mistborn Trilogy, Wheel of Time series, the Stormlight Archive series (book one The Way of Kings), don't miss your chance to meet author Brandon Sanderson who will be at Murder By The Book on November 15 for book signings.  And don't miss out on his latest book set in the Mistborn world three hundred years after the trilogy events, The Alloy of Law.

Star Trek 45th Anniversary

On September 8, 1966, the first episode of Star Trek aired on NBC.  It ran for three seasons, but from boldly going where no television had gone before, came a franchise that has endured decades.  It also has a healthy collection of books that further explore the lives of the characters from all Star Trek series.  If you're looking for a new adventure, trek on over to the library and pick up a few Star Trek titles.

Picture It: Teen Art Show

(c) eqqman via FlickrOn Thursday, October 20 at 6:00 PM, Atascocita Branch Library will present Picture It: Teen Art Show.  We welcome entries of artwork done by teens in traditional media, photography, digital art, 3-D art, and zines.  The rules for art show submissions are:

1. Two dimensional artwork must be no larger than 36”x36” and must be matted or framed. Sculpture or other three dimensional media must be no larger than 3’x3’x3’.

2. Participants must be between the ages of 12-18 years.

FOAL Book Sale, September 24

Friends of Atascocita Library (FOAL) is having a Book Sale this Saturday, September 24, from 10 AM until 5 PM.  Memberships are available at the door if you wish to participate in the preview sale for FOAL members only on Friday, September 23, from 5 PM - 7 PM.  For more information, email contact@foal.ws and to learn more about FOAL visit the website www.foal.ws .

2011 World Fantasy Award Nominees Announced

2011 World Fantasy Award Nominees have been announced.  The nominations are gathered from attendees to the convention, and then voted on by a panel of judges.  Best Novel nominees are:

Syndicate content