Betsy A.'s blog

Craft for Teen Read Week

Clipart of teen reading: Copyright © 2012 Jupiterimages Corporation. Are you a young person who loves to read? Come celebrate your love of reading by coming to the Teen Read Week Craft on Wednesday, October 17, from 4 – 5 pm. Make a bookmark for your reading pleasure. All materials provided. Ages 10-17.

Clipart: Copyright © 2012 Jupiterimages Corporation. 

Another Quote From EL & IC

As noted in previous blogs, Extremely Loud & Incredibly Close by Jonathan Safran Foer has some great quotes in it.  Here is one in which Oskar talks about his mother and their shared loss of his father/her husband on 9/11: “I couldn’t explain to her that I missed him more, more than she or anyone else missed him, because I couldn’t tell her about what happened with the phone. That secret was a hole in the middle of me that every happy thing fell into.”

The secret Oskar refers to is a mystery throughout most of the book. It is only near the end that we find out what happened with his father and the phone on 9/11.

More Quotes Taken From E. L. & I. C.

Extremely Loud & Incredibly Close has a number of eccentric characters. The reader is given a glimpse into their lives and their views of the world, and through these characters the author, Jonathan Safran Foer, provides some interesting quotes. 

From the hard of hearing man who hasn’t left his apartment for twenty-four years, and who shouts everything: “So many people enter and leave your life! Hundreds of thousands of people! You have to keep the door open so they can come in! But it also means you have to let them go!”  (pg. 153)

EL & IC - Quotes

Clipart of quote symbols  from © 2012 Jupiterimages CorporationClipart of quote symbols - © 2012 Jupiterimages Corporation. The selection for Gulf Coast Reads this year is Extremely Loud and Incredibly Close by Jonathan Safran Foer. It has some good quotes.

The main character, Oskar Schell, a nine-year-old boy whose father died in 9/11, describes feeling low or sad as having “heavy boots.” He writes of the time after 9/11: “A few weeks after the worst day, I started writing lots of letters. I don’t know why, but it was one of the only things that made my boots lighter.” (pg. 11)

Gulf Coast Reads Book Discussion

Book Jacket of Extremely Loud and Incredibly Close9/11 is an appropriate day to write about the book Extremely Loud and Incredibly Close by Jonathan Safron Foer.  As mentioned in last week’s blog, this is the selection for this year’s Gulf Coast Reads.  Our book discussion will be on Wednesday, October 17 from 10:30 – 11:30.

There are numerous lists on the Internet of discussion questions for the book. (Note: some of the discussion questions contain spoilers.) One such website is LitLovers, a website for book clubs founded by Molly Lundquist, a former college English professor who wants to spread her love for literature. Included in this website is a Reading Guide for Extremely Loud and Incredibly Close. This reading guide provides a summary of the book, information about the author, and Discussion Questions. Another set of discussion questions can be found at BookBrowse

Questions that seems appropriate for today are: “Did reading the book bring back memories of 9/11 for you? Do you remember how you felt in the days and weeks that followed that event? Do you remember what scared you? What were you grateful for?”

Events for Gulf Coast Reads

Cover Art for book Extremely Loud and Incredibly close by Jonathan Safron FoerGulf Coast Reads: On the Same Page is an annual program that encourages those who live along the upper Gulf Coast to read or listen to the same book and have discussions about it. The selection for this year is Extremely Loud and Incredibly Close by Jonathan Safran Foer. There are two events scheduled at La Porte Community Library related to Gulf Coast Reads: On Monday, October 8, from 6-8:15 p.m. we will show a movie related to the book. The movie is rated PG-13. Then on Wednesday, October 17, from 10-30-11:30 a.m. we will have a book discussion, also in the Meeting Room. Both events are free; registration is not required. 

Civility and the School Year

Book Jacket for The How Rude! Handbook of School Manners for Teens...The beginning of the school year is a good time to remind ourselves of the art of civility, or treating each other with courtesy and politeness. Some books that may be helpful: The How Rude! Handbook of School Manners for Teens: Civility in the Hallowed Halls by Alex J. Packer; George-isms: the 110 Rules George Washington Wrote When He Was 14 and Lived By All His Life by George Washington; The Respectful School [eBook]: How Educators and Students Can Conquer Hate and Harassment by Stephen L. Wessler with Contributing Author William Preble; and Choosing Civility: the Twenty-Five Rules of Considerate Conduct by P. M. Forni. We wish all students, teachers, administrators, and parents a very successful 2012-2013 school year!

Main Street Morning Brew

Clipart of coffee cup from Jupterimages CorporationAll La Porte business and property owners are welcome to attend a Main Street Morning Brew presentation on Marketing in the 21st Century that will be held on Wednesday, August 29, 2012, 8:30 – 9:30 a.m. at Becky’s Ceramics Studio, 100 West Main Street, La Porte. This program is provided free of charge by the City of La Porte and will show “how technology and social media can help you reach your key customers and stay connected with them on a regular basis.” Coffee and light refreshments will be served. For more information, call 281-470-5017 or email osbornes@laportetx.gov.

Clipart: Copyright © 2012 Jupiterimages Corporation. 

Focus on Nora Roberts

Photograph of Book Display of Nora Roberts' Read-AlikesOn the opposite side of the Nicholas Sparks display described previously we have a display of books that have similarities to Nora Roberts. If you like the writing of Nora Roberts, you may like to try Elizabeth Adler, Lisa Gardner, Kay Hooper, Linda Howard, Iris Johansen, Jayne Ann Krentz, Karen Robards, or Katherine Stone.

Read-alikes for Nicholas Sparks

Photograph of Book Display with Nicholas Sparks ReadalikesThe Book Display in Adult Fiction is featuring authors whose books have similar elements to the writing of Nicholas Sparks, such as Luanne Rice, Richard Paul Evans, Karen Kingsbury, and Jeffrey Stepakoff. If you like Nicholas Sparks, you may also like these other authors.

Syndicate content