David Cherry's blog

New Arrivals for National Poetry Month 2014

Nat'lPoMo Poster 2014It is perhaps no accident that National Poetry Month always begins on April Fools’ Day. Poetry is a foolish thing. It, more than prose in all its various forms, assumes it can draw a bead on, and ultimately make some kind of meaning (no matter how fleeting) from the messy and provisional stuff that is life in the 21st century. It is foolish because for nearly everyone but poets themselves, it has become an object of derision, and worse—indifference.

Yet, the world continues to spawn poets. Why? Because, I think, human beings, when you look at them in their best possible light, are fundamentally seekers. We are all looking for something with a big, amorphous name: grace, salvation, contentment, etc. --in short, we are looking for answers to questions we can't even quite formulate.

Book Hunters in Brief: Divergent

Book Hunters in Brief: DivergentYou loved Divergent by Veronica Roth. HCPL’s award-winning Book Hunters recommend these titles:
Blood Red Road by Moira Young. Why? Because if Saba lived in the world of Divergent, she would definitely be Dauntless.

Book Hunters in Brief: Diary of a Wimpy Kid

Book Hunters Graphic: Diary of a Wimpy KidIf you’re a fan of Jeff Kinney’s Diary of a Wimpy Kid series, Harris County Public Library’s Book Hunters recommend:

Big Nate by Lincoln Peirce.
Why? This is also a hybrid of text and comics featuring a middle school student.

Volunteer ESL Tutors Needed! Training Sessions March 21 & 29

There are a lot of very good reasons to become a volunteer English as a second language tutor at Harris County Public Library. One of the best is that with a small investment of your time each week you can make a huge difference in one of your neighbors' lives--and no experience is necessary. On March 21 and 29, HCPL is offering free training sessions that will give you all the tools you'll need. 

To register for one of the training sessions below, or for more information, please call the library, or call or email the literacy coordinator at 713-749-9035.

Book Hunters in Brief: Hyperbole and a Half

in Brief - Hyperbole and a HalfIf you loved Allie Brosh’s Hyperbole and a Half, then Harris County Public Library’s Book Hunters think you’ll dig these titles too:

Let’s Pretend this Never Happened: (A Mostly True Memoir) by Jenny Lawson—star-blogger Lawson shares her mortifying and hilarious moments.

Epileptic by David B.— this graphic novel depicts the story of a boy and his family coping with his brother’s epilepsy.

Relish: My Life in the Kitchen by Lucy Knisley—a comic artist comes of age sharing her love of food.

My Dog: The Paradox by Matthew Inman— for fans of Simple Dog and Helper Dog.

None of these float your boat? Visit Book Hunters and we’ll find you some great reads of your very own.

 

Book Hunters in Brief: The Monuments Men

Book Hunters in Brief - Monuments MenIf you loved the book and movie, The Monuments Men, then we think you ought to take a look at these:

The Zookeeper’s Wife by Diane Ackerman 
Zookeepers in Nazi-occupied Warsaw use their unique position to move Jewish citizens to safety in empty animal cages.

Thieves of Baghdad: One Marine’s Passion for Ancient Civilizations and the Journey to Recover the World’s Greatest Stolen Treasures by Matthew Bogdanos
Bogdanos tells the tale of marines on missions very similar to the work of the Monuments Men, this time in modern-day Iraq.

The Forger’s Spell: A True Story of Vermeer, Nazis, and the Greatest Art Hoax of the Twentieth Century by Edward Dolnick
A mediocre artist in Nazi-occupied Holland makes his living selling Vermeer forgeries to the enemy.

The Soldier Spies by W.E.B. Griffin
A scientist who is an expert on jet aircraft must be smuggled out of Germany before the Nazis can get to him.

If these aren’t your cup of tea, visit Book Hunters, answer a few questions, and within a couple weeks you’ll have a customized reading list in your email inbox.

Book Hunters in Brief: James McBride's Good Lord Bird

BH in Brief 10 - Good Lord BirdIf you loved James McBride's NBA-winning Good Lord Bird, we recommend these:

Cloudsplitter by Russell Banks - Another fictional approach to John Brown narrated by his young son.

Beloved by Toni Morrison - a modern classic about a haunted former slave

Midnight Rising by Tony Horwitz - a gripping nonfiction account of the raid on Harper's Ferry

Middle Passage by Charles Johnson - A young man is transformed after becoming an accidental stowaway on a slave ship.

OverDrive's Big Library Read at HCPL

OverDrive’s Big Library Read lets you combine two of life’s great pleasures: good books and good food. From February 18 to March 5, OverDrive has made available to participating libraries unlimited digital copies of Keys to the Kitchen: The Essential Reference for Becoming a More Accomplished, Adventurous Cook by Food Network and Cooking Channel host Aida Mollenkamp.

You can download Keys to the Kitchen to any iOS or Android device, as well as your Kindle, Nook or home computer. Just visit our Digital Media Catalog and click on the cover of Keys to the Kitchen to get started. It’s easy and it’s free.

Who knows? Maybe you’ll pick up some new cooking skills and broaden your culinary horizons in the process.

Never downloaded an eBook before? Visit HCPL’s eBook support pages for step by step instructions in plain English.

Bon appetit!

Spread the Word—Literally. Become a Volunteer Literacy Tutor

tutor training graphic

If you are visiting this website, it’s a good bet that you know reading’s fundamental value to your day-to-day life. Odds are equally likely that you cannot imagine life without it. But it is a sad fact that 1 in 5 Texans--your neighbors--don’t have to imagine; they are living it—every hour of every day.

Harris County Public Library has long been committed to providing basic literacy classes to all those who want them, but we cannot do that without a team of dedicated volunteer tutors.  On Friday, March 7 at High Meadows Branch Library, we will be holding a tutor training workshop. No teaching experience needed.

Share the gift of reading. Register today.

Adult Basic Literacy Training
High Meadows Branch Library
Friday, March 7, 2014
1:00 – 4:30 p.m.
4500 Aldine Mail Route
Houston 77039

For more information and to register for training, please call High Meadows Branch Library at 281-590-1456, or contact HCPL Literacy Coordinator by phone: 713-749-9035 or email: szach@hcpl.net 

Book Hunters in Brief: Sherlock Holmes

Book Hunters in Brief graphic: Have You Been Sherlocked?Every Friday on Facebook and Tumblr, HCPL's award-winning Book Hunters share read-alikes organized around a theme: popular titles or authors, favorite characters, pop culture trends and more--all in a snazzy graphic format with quick links to HCPL's catalog.

Like us on Facebook or follow us on Tumblr so you don't miss a single one.

This week, Book Hunters suggest some updates on the Great Detective himself, Sherlock Holmes. Check 'em out!
Death Cloud by Andrew Lane
The Scientific Sherlock Holmes by James F. O'Brien
The Beekeeper's Apprentice by Laurie R. King
Dust and Shadow by Lyndsay Faye
A Study in Emerald by Neil Gaiman

Not a fan of Sherlock? Book Hunters will make you a customized reading list. Just tell us what you like!

Didn't Know HCPL is doing the social media thing?

Well, we are...in a big way.



 

Syndicate content