readalikes

Book Hunters in Brief #38: Are You Ready for Some Football?!

Book Hunters FootballWe don't know about you, but this weekend we plan on gorging on some football--along with a heap of seven-layer dip, pork rinds, buffalo wings, and just about anything else we don't have to leave the couch to eat.

Book Hunters in Brief #37: Back to School

BHinB #37 GraphicHear that? That’s the sound of a jillion school kids—from kindergarten to college—sighing. It's back to school time again. Book Hunters can’t do anything about that, but we can suggest these books so at least you don’t feel alone in your pain.

Book Hunters in Brief #33: Awkward Protagonists

Book Hunters in Brief GraphicFor all of you who geek out on the geeks of The Big Bang Theory, the Book Hunters have some reading suggestions that feature some awe-inspiringly awkward protagonists, we think you’ll love.

Book Hunters in Brief #32: Warriors

Book Hunters in Brief GraphicErin Hunter’s Warriors series is great, but there are, unfortunately, a finite number of installments, so sooner or later, you catch up to the author.

Book Hunters in Brief #25: Family Listening

book hunters - family listening graphicGoing on a road trip this summer? Book Hunters suggests you bring along one of these outstanding audiobooks that the whole family will love.

Book Hunters in Brief #22: Mortal Instruments

In Brief 22 graphicIf you're on pins and needles waiting for the final book of the Mortal Instruments series, try these titles to take the edge off.

Book Hunters in Brief #21: New Titles for Asian Pacific Heritage Month

Book Hunters in Brief #21 - APHMThis week, Book Hunters look at new titles in honor of Asian Pacific Heritage Month.

Mambo in Chinatown by Jean Kwok
On Such a Full Sea by Chang-Rae Lee 
Pioneer Girl by Bich Minh Nguyen 
The Guest Cat by Takashi Hiraide 
Family Life by Akhil Sharma

Visit Book Hunters for a customized reading list of your own.

Book Hunters in Brief #20: Batman Turns 75

Book Hunters in Brief #20: BatmanWhen citizens of Gotham need saving (yet again), who do they call? That’s right. They still dial up The Caped Crusader who, even at 75, kicks bad guy backside like no one else. Read these…now:

Batman: The Complete History by Les Daniels 

Batman: The Dark Knight Returns by Frank Miller 

Book Hunters in Brief: Divergent

Book Hunters in Brief: DivergentYou loved Divergent by Veronica Roth. HCPL’s award-winning Book Hunters recommend these titles:
Blood Red Road by Moira Young. Why? Because if Saba lived in the world of Divergent, she would definitely be Dauntless.

Book Hunters in Brief: Diary of a Wimpy Kid

Book Hunters Graphic: Diary of a Wimpy KidIf you’re a fan of Jeff Kinney’s Diary of a Wimpy Kid series, Harris County Public Library’s Book Hunters recommend:

Big Nate by Lincoln Peirce.
Why? This is also a hybrid of text and comics featuring a middle school student.

Syndicate content