Maud Smith Marks Branch Library

Hours & Information

Closed until 11:00am tomorrow

Monday 
11:00AM - 8:00PM

Tuesday 
10:00AM - 6:00PM

Wednesday 
10:00AM - 8:00PM

Thursday 
10:00AM - 6:00PM

Friday 
1:00PM - 6:00PM

Saturday 
10:00AM - 5:00PM

Sunday 
Closed


Upcoming Holidays and Closures

Memorial Day
Friday, May 24, 2024
Closes early: 5:00pm
Memorial Day
Saturday, May 25, 2024 - Monday, May 27, 2024
Closed All Day
1815 Westgreen Boulevard
Katy, TX 77450
Branch Manager: Akhila Bhat

Holidays and Closures

  • Memorial Day
    Friday, May 24, 2024
    Closes early: 5:00pm
  • Memorial Day
    Saturday, May 25, 2024 - Monday, May 27, 2024
    Closed All Day
  • Juneteenth
    Tuesday, June 18, 2024
    Closes early: 5:00pm
  • Juneteenth
    Wednesday, June 19, 2024
    Closed All Day
  • Independence Day
    Wednesday, July 3, 2024
    Closes early: 5:00pm
  • Independence Day
    Thursday, July 4, 2024
    Closed All Day
  • Labor Day
    Friday, August 30, 2024
    Closes early: 5:00pm
  • Labor Day
    Saturday, August 31, 2024 - Monday, September 2, 2024
    Closed All Day
  • Thanksgiving
    Wednesday, November 27, 2024
    Closes early: 5:00pm
  • Thanksgiving
    Thursday, November 28, 2024 - Sunday, December 1, 2024
    Closed All Day
  • Christmas
    Monday, December 23, 2024
    Closes early: 5:00pm
  • Christmas
    Tuesday, December 24, 2024 - Wednesday, December 25, 2024
    Closed All Day

Get a Library CardGet a Library Card

HCPL offers a variety of library cards- All free and available to Harris County residents!
Find the right card for you and see all that the library has to offer.

About Maud Smith Marks Branch Library

    • Citizenship Classes
    • Computer & Technology Classes
    • English Learning (ESL) Classes
    • Maker Equipment Orientations
    • Tours for Schools & Other Groups

Map

History

The library was named in honor of Maud Smith Marks (1887-1970) who ran the first small County library in Barker, Texas. Starting in the 1920s, she contracted with Harris County to have library books delivered. She issued library cards and made sure children in the area had plenty to read. The current library opened on July 27, 1993.

Meet the Manager
Equipment (in-library use)
Friends of the Library
Proctoring

New at Maud Smith Marks Branch Library

Recent News & Blog Posts

Library Closures: Friday May 17

May 17, 2024
Due to widespread power outages, some HCPL branches will be closed on Friday, May 17.

Stepmom who was also a stepchild shares lessons she learned

May is the month to celebrate all mothers. So what better time than now to share and celebrate the stepmother too.

Interlibrary Loan System Downtime May 17 - 27

May 17, 2024
Due to a Statewide System Changeover, HCPL's ILL Services Will Not be Available May 17 - 27, 2024. LEARN MORE>>

Amy Amy Amy – The Legacy and Legend of Amy Winehouse

A look back at the life and work of the extraordinary singer-songwriter before the release of a biopic later this month.
Back to Top